Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

You are here: Home / News


Australia Day needs National Wattle Day
News & events
2016 Golden Wattle Award The award is an honorary one, there being no physical prize or monetary component. It does, however, endow the winners with honourable recognition of their work or actions as being noble and expressing the best of the Australian spirit. Previous recipients of this award have included VC winner Ben Roberts-Smith (2014), Mel Irons a Tasmanian student and community activist (2013), Nobel Prize winner Professor Brian Schmidt (2012) and Tour De France Winner Cadell Evans (2011). The Golden Wattle Award is an honorary recognition of the achievements of an Australian whose contributions in the past 12 months deserve special acknowledgement by Australians. Determination of the award is based on an outstanding or exceptional contribution to Australia (the land) or the Australian Spirit (the people) in or from any field.