Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

You are here: Home / About Wattle Day / Golden Wattle Award / Winners of the 2016 Golden Wattle Award - Michelle Payne and her brother Stephie

Winners of the 2016 Golden Wattle Award - Michelle Payne and her brother Stephie

Michelle Payne and brother Steve win the 2016 Golden Wattle Award

Melbourne Cup winning jockey Michelle Payne and her champion strapper brother, Steve, are joint winners of the 2016 Golden Wattle Award,

The 2016 Golden Wattle Award recognises and honours the shared achievement of Michelle and Steve in winning the 2015 Melbourne Cup. Their spontaneous responses to their against-the-odds victory touched the hearts of the Australian people and caught the spirit of the nation. Truly they gave us a golden moment and are appropriate winners of this year’s Golden Wattle Award.

Stephie & Michelle Payne 3 Nov 2015

Photo: Posted 3 Nov 2015, 3:36pm
Michelle Payne and brother, Stephie, after winning the The Emirates Melbourne Cup on Melbourne Cup Day at Flemington Racecourse on November 3, 2015 in Melbourne.
Getty Images: Robert Cianflone


The award is conferred each year, around the time of National Wattle Day (1 September), by the Wattle Day Association to recognise a person(s) who has brought Gold to Australia through their actions or achievements.

Previous recipients of this award are Champion surfers Mick Fanning and colleague Julian Wilson (2015), VC winner Ben Roberts-Smith (2014), Mel Irons a Tasmanian student and community activist (2013), Nobel Prize winner Professor Brian Schmidt (2012) and Tour De France Winner Cadell Evans (2011)